2020 New Release Roundup

New Releases 2020

In Veritas

by C.J. Lavigne

“Things that are and are not, she thinks, and the dog is a snake.”

In this fantastic and fantastical debut, C.J. Lavigne concocts a wondrous realm overlaying a city that brims with civic workers and pigeons. Led by her synesthesia, Verity Richards discovers a hidden world inside an old Ottawa theatre. Within the timeworn walls live people who should not exist—people whose very survival is threatened by science, technology, and natural law. Verity must submerge herself in this impossible reality to help save the last traces of their broken community. Her guides: a magician, his shadow-dog, a dying angel, and a knife-edged woman who is more than half ghost.

With great empathy and imagination, In Veritas explores the nature of truth and the complexities of human communication.

genre: fantasy, urban fantasy, paranormal

329 pages

Publisher: NeWest Press
Release Date: May 1, 2020
Purchase: Amazon | Publisher (Canada)

Afromyth Volume 2: A Fantasy Collection

edited by N.D. Jones

A Fantasy Collection with an Afrocentric twist.

Afrocentric Books presents the second installment in the Afromyth Fantasy Series. This anthology contains fourteen fantasy stories featuring characters of the African diaspora, stories that will take you from the American antebellum South, where an African god searches for his voice, to the far-flung future, where a caravan of ships makes harbor in a Saharan sea. Follow a young boy who, with the help of ancestral magic, learns what it truly means to be a warrior. Take a spirit journey as a young girl learns to be a goddess. Afromyth Volume 2 is an eclectic collection of tales whose fantasy themes run the gamut from romance to horror, including a story of a woman whose sanity is tested by her family’s demons. Within these pages, a healer unlocks an ancient power, a woman rides the gods, and a god rides a bike.

Explore new worlds through the eyes of characters of indigenous African descent.

genre: fantasy, anthology

267 pages

Publisher: Afrocentric Books | Mugwump Press
Release Date: February 29, 2020
Purchase: Amazon

Goldilocks

by Laura Lam

Despite increasing restrictions on the freedoms of women on Earth, Valerie Black is spearheading the first all-female mission to a planet in the Goldilocks Zone, where conditions are just right for human habitation.

It’s humanity’s last hope for survival, and Naomi, Valerie’s surrogate daughter and the ship’s botanist, has been waiting her whole life for an opportunity like this – to step out of Valerie’s shadow and really make a difference.

But when things start going wrong on the ship, Naomi begins to suspect that someone on board is concealing a terrible secret – and realizes time for life on Earth may be running out faster than they feared . . .

Trigger Warning: Some aspects are quite close to current events of spring 2020. There is also mention of abortion, miscarriage, and pregnancy. There are allusions to emotional abuse.

genre: science fiction, dystopia, colonization

267 pages

Publisher: Orbit
Release Date: May 5, 2020
Purchase: Amazon

To Sleep in a Sea of Stars

by Christopher Paolini

To Sleep in a Sea of Stars is a brand new epic novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author of Eragon, Christopher Paolini.

Kira Navárez dreamed of life on new worlds.

Now she’s awakened a nightmare.

During a routine survey mission on an uncolonized planet, Kira finds an alien relic. At first she’s delighted, but elation turns to terror when the ancient dust around her begins to move.

As war erupts among the stars, Kira is launched into a galaxy-spanning odyssey of discovery and transformation. First contact isn’t at all what she imagined, and events push her to the very limits of what it means to be human.

While Kira faces her own horrors, Earth and its colonies stand upon the brink of annihilation. Now, Kira might be humanity’s greatest and final hope . . .

genre: science fiction, colonization, exploration, first contact

880 pages

Publisher: Tor Books
Release Date: September 15, 2020
Purchase: Amazon

The Midnight Library

by Matt Haig

“Between life and death there is a library, and within that library, the shelves go on forever. Every book provides a chance to try another life you could have lived. To see how things would be if you had made other choices . . . Would you have done anything different, if you had the chance to undo your regrets?”

A dazzling novel about all the choices that go into a life well lived, from the internationally bestselling author of Reasons to Stay Alive and How To Stop Time.

Somewhere out beyond the edge of the universe there is a library that contains an infinite number of books, each one the story of another reality. One tells the story of your life as it is, along with another book for the other life you could have lived if you had made a different choice at any point in your life. While we all wonder how our lives might have been, what if you had the chance to go to the library and see for yourself? Would any of these other lives truly be better?

In The Midnight Library, Matt Haig’s enchanting new novel, Nora Seed finds herself faced with this decision. Faced with the possibility of changing her life for a new one, following a different career, undoing old breakups, realizing her dreams of becoming a glaciologist; she must search within herself as she travels through the Midnight Library to decide what is truly fulfilling in life, and what makes it worth living in the first place.

genre: science fiction, time travel

880 pages

Publisher: Viking
Release Date: September 29, 2020
Purchase: Amazon

Weird Dream Society: An Anthology of the Possible & Unsubstantiated

edited by Julie C. Day

*All proceeds from the Weird Dream Society anthology will go to RAICES. RAICES envisions a compassionate society where all people have the right to migrate, and human rights are guaranteed. Some dreams can change the world.

Playful, whimsical, or dark, but always thoughtful and tinged with the inexplicably weird, the Weird Dream Society brings together twenty-three stories from the most innovative creators in speculative fiction.

Nathan Ballingrud, Carina Bissett, Gregory Norman Bossert, Karen Bovenmyer, Christopher Brown, Emily Cataneo, Julie C. Day, Michael J Deluca, Gemma Files, A.T. Greenblatt, Nin Harris, Chip Houser, James Patrick Kelly, Marianne Kirby, Kathrin Köhler Matthew Kressel, Jordan Kurella, Premee Mohamed, Sarah Read, Sofia Samatar, Bonnie Jo Stufflebeam, Steve Toase, A.C. Wise

genre: speculative fiction, anthology

334 pages

Publisher: Reckoning Press
Release Date: May 26, 2020
Purchase: Amazon

The City We Became

by N.K. Jemisin

Three-time Hugo Award-winning and New York Times bestselling author N.K. Jemisin crafts her most incredible novel yet, a story of culture, identity, magic, and myths in contemporary New York City.

In Manhattan, a young grad student gets off the train and realizes he doesn’t remember who he is, where he’s from, or even his own name. But he can sense the beating heart of the city, see its history, and feel its power.

In the Bronx, a Lenape gallery director discovers strange graffiti scattered throughout the city, so beautiful and powerful it’s as if the paint is literally calling to her.

In Brooklyn, a politician and mother finds she can hear the songs of her city, pulsing to the beat of her Louboutin heels.

And they’re not the only ones.

Every great city has a soul. Some are ancient as myths, and others are as new and destructive as children. New York? She’s got six.

genre: fantasy, urban fantasy, magical realism

448 pages

Publisher: Orbit
Release Date: March 24, 2020
Purchase: Amazon

The Invisible Life of Adie Larue

by V. E. Schwab

In the vein of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab’s genre-defying tour de force.

A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget.

France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever―and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.

Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world.

But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name.

genre: historical fantasy, romantic fantasy, fantasy action & adventure

448 pages

Publisher: Tor
Release Date: October 6, 2020
Purchase: Amazon

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.